BPM Trends 2014 - a summary

Created by Software-Initiative Deutschland e.V. (SID) in collaboration with Metasonic

 

(1) Response times are becoming shorter and shorter

It's not just companies and organizations with agile and flexible structures that have good competitive and market opportunities. The digital world is driving changes forward at breakneck speed, and its progress is unstoppable. How can an organization's performance be managed if the environment is constantly changing? Companies need to recognize risks much faster and be prepared for the fact that the response times for managing these risks and opportunities successfully are becoming shorter and shorter. Organizations and companies must prepare themselves for this and be as agile as possible. This means that, when changes occur, if new situations arise or market opportunities present themselves, not waiting until instructions come from high up, but instead have a tactically smart alternative or innovative proposal ready in response.

(2) Networked communication is becoming more and more important

Knowledge is a company's most important asset. Only by extracting the right, competition-critical information quickly to match the situation can a company profit from an opportunity and avoid risks. Employees are also increasingly working in spatially disparate locations. People network with each other via social media, communicate with machines and find themselves embedded in an evolutionary process that is constantly becoming more and more dynamic. In this situation, it is one of the most important resources within an organization - the knowledge held by its workforce - that contributes considerably to the company's success. For this reason, it is especially important that this knowledge is transparent for all, but can also be retrieved and deployed effectively. This is the only way to constantly ensure that opportunities, risks and new situations will always be managed effectively. However this knowledge also needs to be able to flow quickly and directly into IT support.

(3) Easy-to-use business solutions are of crucial importance for agility and dynamism

Only by understanding a business solution, knowing the facts and having all the necessary information available quickly can someone make the right decisions. This is particularly true for specialist departments, which may need to create their own applications using business tools in order to obtain these facts. This enables them to act in an agile manner, adapt to challenges and have the requisite KPIs available so that they can make and implement the right decisions at all times.

(4) Context-aware offers will increase

According to the media, fifteen per cent of customers will follow up context-aware offers that are based on their individual characteristics and buying profiles by 2017. This means that business departments will need to be able to allow customers' ideas, for instance in product development, to flow quickly into their solutions. Through direct dialogue, these ideas can then be driven forward with the engineers. This is associated with a constant adaptation of internal workflows. After all, this is the only way in which to ensure that customer experience is reflected within the organization.

(5) Integrate and motivate staff into and about IT processes

Herbert Kindermann, Managing Director of Metasonic and Chairman of the SID Forum "Quo vadis BPM?", accordingly believes that motivating employees is essential for a company's success. Given the current huge trend towards cloud solutions, it is in fact crucial: "What use is immediate availability from the cloud if an IT specialist is needed to adapt and optimize it?" Some BPM tools need several square meters of paper to visualize business processes. These are far too complex for employees from the business departments and can accordingly only be understood by process experts. If the prevailing structures are too rigid, business people may not be able to contribute their specialist knowledge and expertise. This has a hugely negative effect on motivation and commitment.

(6) IT will be relieved by simple and agile business solutions

Easy-to-use business solutions, however, not only encourage the involvement of business people, but they also relieve IT departments' workloads. This is because when employees create their applications themselves, the IT department has spare capacity and budgets are spared. According to statements by the IDC, over 70 per cent of CIOs need to become innovators over the next two years. Instead of representing a bottleneck and therefore stopping their IT management, they are evolving from the role of business supporter to that of business enabler. They primarily provide added value contributions for companies and drive innovations forwards in order to secure the company's success.

 

Download the BPM Trends 2014 (PDF, 210KB) or read the BPM Trends 2014 press release.

BPM-Trends 2014 – Ein Überblick

Erstellt von der Software-Initiative Deutschland e.V. (SID) in Zusammenarbeit mit Metasonic

 

(1) Reaktionszeiten werden immer kürzer

Nur die Unternehmen und Organisationen mit agilen und flexiblen Strukturen haben gute Wettbewerbs- und Marktchancen. Die digitale Welt treibt Veränderungen rasant und unaufhörlich voran. Wie lässt sich die Performance einer Organisation managen, wenn sich die Umwelt ständig ändert? Unternehmen müssen Risiken viel schneller erkennen und darauf vorbereitet sein, dass die Reaktionszeit, diese Chancen und Risiken erfolgreich zu managen, immer kürzer wird. Organisationen und Unternehmen müssen sich dafür wappnen und so agil wie möglich aufgestellt sein. Das heißt, bei Veränderungen, neuen Situationen und Marktchancen nicht warten bis von oben Anweisungen kommen, sondern sofort eine taktisch kluge Alternative oder einen innovativen Vorschlag als Reaktion parat haben.

(2) Vernetzte Kommunikation wird immer wichtiger

Wissen ist die wichtigste Ressource im Unternehmen. Nur wer daraus schnell situationsbedingt die richtigen wettbewerbskritischen Informationen zieht, kann von einer Gelegenheit profitieren und Risiken meiden. Zudem arbeiten Mitarbeiter immer häufiger an räumlich verteilten Standorten. Über Social Media Kanäle vernetzen sich Menschen miteinander, kommunizieren mit Maschinen und finden sich eingebettet in einer stetig dynamischer werdenden Evolution. Dabei ist eine der wichtigsten Ressourcen in einer Organisation überhaupt – das Wissen der Mitarbeiter –, das wesentlich zum unternehmerischen Erfolg beiträgt. Deswegen ist es besonders wichtig, dass dieses Wissen transparent für alle ist, aber auch effektiv abgerufen und eingesetzt werden kann. Nur so können Chancen, Risiken und neue Situationen immer wieder gemeistert werden. Doch dieses Wissen muss auch schnell und direkt in die IT-Unterstützung einfließen können.

(3) Einfach zu handhabende Business-Lösungen sind von entscheidender Bedeutung für Agilität und Dynamik

Bedeutung für Agilität und Dynamik Nur wer seine Business-Lösung versteht, die Fakten kennt und schnell alle notwendigen Informationen zur Verfügung hat, kann die richtigen Entscheidungen treffen. Dies gilt insbesondere für die Fachabteilungen, die notwendigerweise mit ihren Business-Werkzeugen eigene Applikationen erstellen müssen, um diese Fakten zu bekommen. Das versetzt sie in die Lage, agil zu handeln, sich Herausforderungen anzupassen und die notwendigen KPIs zur Verfügung zu haben, um jederzeit die richtigen Entscheidungen zu treffen und umzusetzen.

(4) Kontext-bewusste Angebote werden zunehmen

Den Medien zufolge, werden bis 2017 fünfzehn Prozent der Kunden auf sogenannte Kontext-bewusste Angebote eingehen (Context-Aware Offers), die auf ihren individuellen Merkmalen und Kaufprofilen basieren. Das heißt Fachabteilungen müssen in der Lage sein, Ideen von Kunden beispielsweise in der Produktentwicklung schnell in ihre Lösungen einfließen zu lassen. Im direkten Austausch können diese Ideen dann mit Ingenieuren konzeptionell vorangetrieben werden. Dies bringt eine ständige Anpassung der inneren Arbeitsabläufe mit sich. Denn nur so kann man sicherstellen, dass sich die Kundenerfahrungen in der Organisation niederschlagen.

(5) Mitarbeiter in IT-Prozesse einbinden und motivieren

Mitarbeiter zu motivieren hält Herbert Kindermann, Geschäftsführer von Metasonic und Vorsitzender des SID-Forums „Quo vadis BPM?“, demnach für essentiell für den unternehmerischen Erfolg. Gerade für den aktuellen Megatrend der Cloud-Lösungen ist das entscheidend: „Was hilft mir eine sofortige Verfügbarkeit aus der Cloud, wenn zur Anpassung und Optimierung ein IT-Spezialist benötigt wird?“. Manche BPM-Tools brauchen mehrere Quadratmeter Papier, um die Geschäftsprozesse zu visualisieren. Diese sind viel zu komplex für die Mitarbeiter aus den Fachabteilungen und können demnach nur von Prozessexperten verstanden werden. Sind die vorherrschenden Strukturen zu starr, können die Business-Leute ihr Fachwissen und ihre Expertise nicht einbringen. Dies wirkt sich in hohem Maße negativ auf Motivation und Engagement aus.

(6) IT wird durch einfache und agile Business-Lösungen entlastet

Einfach zu handhabende Business-Lösungen fördern aber nicht nur das Engagement der Fachmitarbeiter, es entlastet auch die IT-Abteilungen. Denn wenn Mitarbeiter ihre Applikationen selbst erstellen, werden in der IT Kapazitäten frei und die Budgets geschont. Aussagen von IDC zufolge, müssen in den nächsten zwei Jahren über 70 Prozent der CIOs zu Innovatoren werden. Statt Flaschenhals zu sein und sich damit aufzuhalten die IT zu managen, entwickeln sie sich aus der Rolle des Business-Unterstützers in die eines Business-Enablers. Sie leisten überwiegend Wertschöpfungsbeiträge für Unternehmen und treiben Innovationen voran, um den Unternehmenserfolg sicherzustellen.

 

Download der BPM-Trends 2014 (PDF, 80KB) oder lesen Sie die BPM-Trends 2014 Pressemitteilung.