FI-TS GmbH & Co. KG Service good? All is good!

Finanz Informatik Technologie Service GmbH & Co. KG, or FI-TS for short, was founded in 1994 and today employs around 520 staff at its headquarters in Haar near Munich and three other locations in Germany. As a leading provider of information technology services in the financial sector, FI-TS ensures secure, high-performance access to systems and information. The company offers comprehensive services for the entire IT process chain, from consulting to planning and implementation, to service and support. Its aim is to partner with banks, insurance companies and financial service providers to help them work even more efficiently and successfully.

To maximize on-time delivery with high quality standards for the central coordination and management of orders, FI-TS has decided to implement and run its entire order management process on the basis of software specialist Metasonic’s Business Process Management Suite.

STARTING SITUATION & PROJECT DEFINITION

The order management process at FI-TS is central and absolutely critical to the company’s success. It is used to manage around 800 customer orders and internal orders annually. High quality and customer satisfaction play a decisive role in this process. Currently, seven employees manage this challenge with around 500 process participants, who work with more than 40 teams in 19 departments currently based in three locations.

Previously, the process was documented in standardized descriptions and guidelines. The processing support was based on conventional applications such as SAP CS with an interface to SAP SD, or, in individual cases, processing was carried out via MS Office Mail or Outlook. No workflow engine was used. The difficult part of the process was the extensive communication and agreement effort required to control and coordinate it. The need for a tool-supported process model with high flexibility and a simple, programming-free implementation option became increasingly clear. A standardized tool was therefore required to considerably simplify the use of delegated representatives, the training of new employees and the calculation of performance indicators, and to enable all parties involved to view the current completion status of the order at any time.

The goal of the project was to prioritize the existing process with the stakeholders and their necessary interaction for the fulfillment of the process flow.

The long-term involvement of external roles in the process, such as customers and suppliers, was also an important requirement in the medium term.

 

THE ORDER MANAGEMENT PROCESS AT FI-TS: AN EXAMPLE:

A customer contracts FI-TS to provide an X86 server with operating system and database in the customer network segment in order, for example, to then install its own application. Once this order has been received by sales, order management takes over the timely processing and delivery of the contracted services.

First, the technical order manager (TOM) in the Order Management department initiates a request via the respective team leaders, who see to the allocation of a suitable technical order processor (TOP). This requires intensive communication. The order is broken down by the TOM into workpackages and passed to the respective TOPs in the IT factory the operating system specialist and the database specialist. During order processing the order contentand deadlines are organized and monitored via regular status messages between the TOPs and TOMs. Unforeseen events in this process require a quick response or agreement among the participants.

Finally, the respective assigned TOPs configure the servers, load them with software, and establish the appropriate network connections. After the order has been technically implemented, the TOM sends a "ready message" to sales, which then takes care of the customer acceptance procedure and handles the commercial side of the order.

THE DECISION

In selecting a tool, the following requirements arose for the future modeling method:

  1. Uncomplicated, programming-free modeling for the business
  2. Stringent mapping of the process with its rules, regulations and defined roles
  3. Escalation in the event of deadline delays or content implementation problems
  4. Easy integration capability with existing systems such as SAP
  5. Complete flexibility in putting together the respective teams (TOM, TOP) with regard to department, team, location and number of people involved
  6. High flexibility in case of unanticipated events
  7. Transparent view of active and inactive tasks for each participant in the order (sales, TOM, TOP)
  8. Transparent view of all order information and status messages with the same data quality
  9. Quality assurance of orders in terms of content, deadlines, costs and evaluation to ensure order-compliant implementation

All processes must be easy to modify and expand. Since Metasonic® Suite meets all of these requirements, the decision in favor of the Metasonic® Process Management Suite was readily made.

THE PROJECT

Within a few days, the complete "living" process with all executable roles was modeled based on the viewpoints and experience of the Order Management department. To achieve this, FI-TS and Metasonic came together at one table.

A major advantage of the underlying subject-oriented BPM (S-BPM) approach is that employee communication is placed at the center of attention and the individuals concerned are thus immediately involved in the ongoing improvements to the solution. With Metasonic® Proof, every business user can automatically start an interactive Web-based role play from the finished process models or applications. During the project run phase, it quickly became clear that the selected process was an extremely complex and sensitive one. On the one hand, this required the utmost flexibility during mapping. On the other hand, it had to be possible for employees to modify the processes easily at any time during the execution. In order to solve this in a simple way, the concept of multiprocesses was introduced by Metasonic.

This allows similar process components within a process to be run multiple times independently of one another. Result: All told, FI-TS was able to implement some 150 optimizations at the conclusion of the first pilot operation.

THE RESULT

Today, all orders are processed in Metasonic® Flow. To date, they amount to around 800 order with 1,200 work packages. All of the described departments are involved.

The process models are created quickly and easily by the respective user and can be executed immediately. For the successful production operation, Metasonic instructed all participants in the working method of the new, optimized order management process.

The following improvements have been achieved to date:

  1. Online overview of the work packages with TOP, costs and deadlines - available at any time and continuously updated through status management, so that stakeholders can see precisely who is scheduled from when to when.
  2. Simple, constantly updated overview of all information about every process step.
  3. Metasonic® Suite runs using a Web interface (e.g. Internet Explorer). No separate installation for the user is required.
  4. Access is achieved via single sign-on.
  5. Drill-down technique for detailed view of an order.
  6. High transparency through retrieval of comparable process key performance indicators for each department and site. This means, among other things:
    • Duration of the TOP designation
    • Proportion of rejected TOP requests
    • Communication time during the preparation time (duration of time between a TOP request and the establishment of the mutually agreed completion date (kick-off))
    • On-time delivery for each customer (across all customers)
    • Proportion of late or missing status messages
    • Number of orders that were changed during execution

FI-TS GmbH & Co. KG Service gut - Alles gut!

Finanz Informatik Technologie Service, kurz FI-TS, wurde 1994 gegründet und beschäftigt heute rund 520 Mitarbeiter an ihrem Hauptsitz in Haar bei München und drei weiteren Standorten in Deutschland. FI-TS gewährleistet als führender Dienstleister für Informationstechnologie im Finanzsektor einen performanten und sicheren Zugriff auf Systeme und Informationen. Dabei bietet das Unternehmen umfassende Leistungen für die komplette IT-Prozesskette von Beratung bis Planung, über Implementierung bis hin zu Service und Support. Ziel ist es, als der Partner von Banken, Versicherungen und Finanzdienstleistern dazu beizutragen, dass diese noch effizienter und damit erfolgreicher arbeiten können.

Um für die zentrale Koordination und Steuerung der Aufträge eine maximale Termintreue bei hohem Qualitätsanspruch sicherstellen zu können, hat sich FI-TS dazu entschieden, den gesamten Auftragssteuerungsprozess auf der Basis der Geschäftsprozessmanagement-Suite des Softwarespezialisten Metasonic zu realisieren und auszuführen.

IST-SITUATION & AUFGABENSTELLUNG

Der Auftragssteuerungsprozess ist bei FI-TS zentral und äußerst erfolgskritisch. Rund 800 Kunden- und interne Aufträge werden hier jährlich gesteuert. Dabei spielt gerade eine hohe Qualität und Kundenzufriedenheit eine entscheidende Rolle. Derzeit managen diese Herausforderung sieben Mitarbeiter mit rund 500 Prozessbeteiligten, die in 19 Abteilungen mit mehr als 40 Teams an derzeit drei Standorten arbeiten.

Bisher war der Prozess in standardisierten Beschreibungen und Richtlinien dokumentiert. Die Abwicklungsunterstützung beruhte auf klassischen Anwendungen wie SAP CS mit einer Schnittstelle zu SAP SD, oder in Einzelfällen wurde die Abwicklung über MS Office Mail oder Outlook vorgenommen. Eine Workflow-Engine gab es nicht. Das Schwierige an dem Prozess war der hohe Kommunikations- und Abstimmungsaufwand, den es zu beherrschen und koordinieren galt. Der Bedarf nach einem werkzeuggestützten Prozessmodell mit hoher Flexibilität und einfacher, programmierfreier Implementierungsmöglichkeit wurde also immer deutlicher. So sollte ein einheitliches Tool den Einsatz von Vertretungskollegen, die Einarbeitung neuer Mitarbeiter sowie die Ermittlung von Kennzahlen erheblich vereinfachen sowie allen Prozessbeteiligten zu jeder Zeit einen Blick auf den aktuellen Status der Realisierung des Auftrages ermöglichen.

Ziel des Projekts war es, den bestehenden Ablauf mit den Beteiligten und deren notwendige Interaktion zur Erfüllung des Prozessablaufs in den Vordergrund zu rücken. Auch die langfristige Einbeziehung externer Rollen in den Prozess wie Kunden und Lieferanten war auf mittlere Sicht eine wichtige Anforderung.

DER AUFTRAGSSTEUERUNGSPROZESS BEI FI-TS: EIN BEISPIEL

Ein Kunde beauftragt FI-TS mit der Bereitstellung eines X86 Servers mit Betriebssystem und Datenbank im Kundennetzsegment, um z.B. anschließend seine eigene Applikation zu installieren. Nachdem dieser Auftrag über den Vertrieb eingegangen ist, übernimmt die Auftragssteuerung die termingerechte Abwicklung und Lieferung der beauftragten Leistungen.

Zunächst startet der technische Auftragsverantwortliche (TAV) in der Abteilung Auftragssteuerung eine Anfrage über die jeweiligen Teamleiter, die sich um die Zuweisung eines dafür geeigneten technischen Auftragsbearbeiters (TAB) kümmern. Hier ist eine intensive Kommunikation erforderlich. Dazu wird der Auftrag vom TAV in Arbeitspakete zerlegt und den jeweiligen TABs in der IT-Fabrik unter Nennung und Einbeziehung von Fachbereichen zur Umsetzung übergeben; in diesem Beispiel der Servereinheit, den Betriebssystem- und den Datenbank-Spezialisten. In der Auftragsabarbeitung werden über regelmäßige Statusmitteilungen zwischen den TABs und TAVs die Auftragsinhalte und Termine organisiert und überwacht. Unvorhergesehene Ereignisse erfordern hier eine schnelle Reaktion bzw. Abstimmung der Beteiligten.

Schließlich bauen die jeweils zugewiesenen TAB die Server auf, reichern sie mit Software an und etablieren die entsprechenden Netzwerkanbindungen. Nachdem der Auftrag technisch umgesetzt ist, sendet der TAV eine „Fertigmeldung“ an den Vertrieb, der sich in der Folge um die Abnahme kümmert und die kaufmännische Seite des Auftrages abwickelt.

DIE ENTSCHEIDUNG

Bei der Toolauswahl ergaben sich folgende Anforderungen an das zukünftige Modellierungsverfahren:

  1. Unkomplizierte, programmierfreie Modellierung für das Business.
  2. Stringente Abbildung des Prozesses mit seinen Regeln, Vorschriften und den definierten Rollen.
  3. Eskalation bei Terminverzug und inhaltlichen Umsetzungsproblemen.
  4. Einfache Integrationsmöglichkeit mit bestehenden Systemen wie z.B. SAP.
  5. Völlige Flexibilität bei der Zusammenstellung der jeweiligen Teams (TAV, TAB) hinsichtlich Abteilung, Team, Standort und Anzahl involvierter Personen.
  6. Hohe Flexibilität bei unerwarteten Ereignissen.
  7. Transparente Sicht auf aktive und inaktive Aufgaben für jeden am Auftrag Beteiligten (Vertrieb, TAV, TAB).
  8. Transparente Sicht auf alle Auftragsinformationen und Statusmeldungen in gleicher Datenqualität.
  9. Qualitätssicherung der Aufträge hinsichtlich Inhalt, Termin, Aufwand und Auswertung zur Sicherstellung der auftragskonformen Umsetzung.

Alle Prozessabläufe müssen einfach zu verändern bzw. zu erweitern sein. Die Metasonic® Suite erfüllt alle diese Anforderungen, so dass die Entscheidung schnell auf die Prozessmanagement Suite von Metasonic fiel.

DAS PROJEKT

In wenigen Tagen wurde der komplette „gelebte“ Prozess mit allen ablauffähigen Rollen aus der Sicht und den Erfahrungen der Auftragssteuerung modelliert. Dazu setzten sich FI-TS und Metasonic an einen Tisch.

Großer Vorteil der zugrundeliegenden subjektorientierten BPM (S-BPM)-Vorgehensweise ist, dass die Kommunikation der Mitarbeiter im Mittelpunkt steht und so die Betroffenen sofort in die weiteren Lösungsverbesserungen eingebunden sind. Denn jeder Business-Anwender ist mit Metasonic® Proof in der Lage, aus den fertigen Prozessmodellen bzw. -applikationen automatisch ein interaktives, webbasiertes Rollenspiel zu starten. Während der Projektlaufphase wurde schnell klar, dass es sich bei dem ausgewählten Prozess um einen äußerst komplexen und sensiblen Prozess handelt. Dies erforderte zum einen höchste Flexibilität bei der Abbildung. Zum anderen sollte es für die Mitarbeiter möglich sein, die Prozesse jederzeit während der Ausführung leicht ändern zu können. Um dies einfach zu lösen, wurde das Konzept der Multiprozesse von Metasonic eingeführt. Dies erlaubt es, gleichartige Prozessteile innerhalb eines Prozesses mehrfach unabhängig voneinander ablaufen zu lassen.

Resultat: Insgesamt konnte FI-TS rund 150 Optimierungen nach Ablauf des ersten Pilotbetriebs implementieren.

DAS ERGEBNIS

Alle Aufträge werden heute in Metasonic® Flow bearbeitet. Bis dato sind das ca. 800 mit 1200 Arbeitspaketen. Hierbei sind alle beschriebenen Abteilungen involviert. Die Prozessmodelle entstehen einfach und schnell durch den jeweiligen Anwender und können sofort ausgeführt werden. Für den erfolgreichen Produktionsbetrieb wies Metasonic alle Beteiligten in die Arbeitsweise des neuen und optimierten Auftragssteuerungsprozesses ein.

Folgende Verbesserungen wurden bis heute erreicht:

  1. Online-Übersicht über die Arbeitspakete mit TAB, Aufwand und Terminen - Jederzeit abrufbar und laufend aktuell durch Statuspflege, so dass genau ersichtlich ist, wer von wann bis wann eingeplant ist.
  2. Einfacher, stets aktueller Überblick aller Informationen zu jedem Prozessschritt.
  3. Die Metasonic® Suite läuft unter einer Weboberfläche (z.B. Internet Explorer). Es ist keine separate Installation für den User notwendig.
  4. Der Zugriff erfolgt über Single-Sign-on.
  5. Drill Down-Technik zur Detailsicht auf einen Auftrag.
  6. Hohe Transparenz durch das Abrufen von vergleichbaren Prozesskennzahlen pro Abteilung und Standort. Das bedeutet unter anderem:
    • Zeitdauer der TAB-Benennung
    • Anteil der abgelehnten TAB-Anfragen
    • Kommunikationszeit bei der Vorbereitungszeit (Zeitdauer zwischen TAB-Anforderung bis zur Festlegung des gemeinsam abgestimmten Ferstigstellungstermins (Kick-Off)
    • Termintreue pro Kunde (kundenübergreifend)
    • Anteil der verspäteten oder fehlenden Statusrückmeldungen
    • Anzahl der Aufträge, die während der Abarbeitung geändert wurden