Fiducia IT AG Introduction of S-BPM at Fiducia

FIDUCIA IT AG, owned by banks and credit unions (Raiffeisenbank), is the largest IT partner in the cooperative banking sector as well as an IT service provider for private banks and other enterprises. With more than 45 years of IT experience in the banking industry, FIDUCIA is currently one of the largest employers in Karlsruhe, Germany, with 2.300 employees. FIDUCIA decided on Metasonic’s BPM Suite to optimize its business processes, initially concentrating specifically on the “internal requisitions” areas of various divisions at FIDUCIA.

For the selection of a suitable BPM solution, it was important that changes in customer market demands can be mapped quickly and easily and implemented immediately. Such changes include frequent revisions of interfaces between divisions, which, ideally, could be integrated immediately on-the-fly, while the process is running.

One of the goals was to eliminate the existing complicated and time-intensive coordination processes between the technical and IT departments to ensure a short time to market. Achieving these goals required the support of an intelligent process management system which allows processes to be changed easily and make them immediately available for execution again. Furthermore, all relevant data and applications should be linked flexibly. A linking mechanism of unique simplicity is precisely what Metasonic offers with its subject-oriented BPM (S-BPM) Suite.

As an initial project, FIDUCIA is first using Metasonic® Suite to describe and to execute procedural instructions, the so-called “how-to” level. All compliance specifications are integrated as well to ensure consistent documentation.

What is S-BPM?

Unique, simple, flexible and fast: S-BPM, a subject-oriented methodology for describing processes that is setting new standards in today’s BPM market. Its goal is to establish dynamic business applications quickly and easily and integrate them promptly and seamlessly into existing IT systems. The approach here focuses on the behavior of the individual participant (subject) in the process (This could be a human being or a machine). To structure and coordinate their collaboration they communicate with each other. A central control flow, a component of many other BPM tools, is no longer necessary.

Initial situation & associated problems

The lowest process level at FIDUCIA, the so-called “how-to” level, comprises all of FIDUCIA’s internal requirements, such as ordering processes, complaint management, awarding of contracts, approval procedures, maintenance processes, etc. The associated processes, however, were described very differently by their individual divisions. This led to the following problems:

  1. The amount of work required and the degree of necessity were estimated very differently.
  2. There was no direct connection between the description of a process and the workflow of a process.
  3. There was little transparency across the workflow and not much possibility of monitoring the process. Updating through the use of various tools was laborious.
  4. It was difficult to evaluate process costs.
  5. Internal demands were handled individually and supported by the use of more than 100 pigeonholes:
    • no integrated interface for controlling the demand handler
    • no possibility of optimization by realizing how often and where specific demands arise, and
    • no obligatory, standardized workflow for the process of approving demands

Method and results

In close cooperation with the participating FIDUCIA employees, the pigeonholes for requisitions were gradually phased out, and models of the associated workflows (including clear correction structures) were created in Metasonic® Build, the modeling component of the Metasonic® Suite. Before the “Go Live” order was issued, employees were able to test and to improve the processes interactively with Metasonic® Proof, the validation component. Subsequently, FIDUCIA’s intranet was expanded to include a process portal with the help of the execution tool Metasonic® Flow. In future, all internal demands will be handled via this portal.

The revolutionary aspect of this approach is that the portal creates an optimal set of interconnections between employee, process, and IT. It already contains all of the basic data of the requisitioner and uses requisition forms which optimally support the communications workflow. This ensures that the recipient will have the most comprehensive set of data possible, which in turn reduces follow-up inquiries. The process owners in the approval process are actively directed to their tasks. Each process participant continuously receives a current and transparent overview of the approval and handling process. The demand volume can now be analyzed centrally and allows optimization measures to be compiled.

Another important point is that compliance specifications can be integrated into the process from the very beginning, so that each employee knows how to act in conformance with the rules. Each step is clear and documented.

Fiducia IT AG Einführung von S-BPM bei Fiducia

Die FIDUCIA IT AG gehört den Banken und Raiffeisenbanken und ist größter IT-Partner im genossenschaftlichen Bankensektor, IT-Dienstleister für Privatbanken und weitere Unternehmen. FIDUCIA verfügt über mehr als 45 Jahre Erfahrung im IT-Bereich von Banken und beschäftigt als einer der größten Arbeitgeber am Hauptsitz in Karlsruhe derzeit 2.300 Mitarbeiter. Zur Optimierung der Geschäftsprozesse, im konkreten Fall zunächst im Bereich „interne Bedarfsanforderung“ aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen bei FIDUCIA, entschied sich das Unternehmen für die Metasonic® Suite.

Bei der Auswahl der geeigneten BPM-Lösung war es wichtig, dass veränderte Markanforderungen von Kunden einfach und schnell im Ablauf abgebildet sowie sofort umgesetzt werden können. Dazu gehören auch die häufigen Veränderungen in den Schnittstellen zu anderen Bereichen, die im Idealfall „On-the-Fly“ im laufenden Prozess umgehend zu integrieren sind. Die bisherigen aufwendigen und zeitintensiven Abstimmungen zwischen Fach- und IT-Abteilung galt es weitestgehend zu eliminieren und so einen kurzen Time-To-Market garantieren zu können.

Die Erreichung dieser Ziele erforderte die Unterstützung durch ein intelligentes Prozessmanagement, bei dem Prozesse einfach zu verändern sind und dann sofort wieder ablauffähig zur Verfügung stehen. Auch relevante Informationen und Applikationen sollten flexibel miteinander verknüpft werden. Metasonic stellt mit der subjektorienterten BPM (S-BPM) Suite gerade diesen Verknüpfungsmechanismus in einmaliger Einfachheit zur Verfügung.

Als anfängliches Projekt setzte die FIDUCIA zunächst die Metasonic® Suite zur Beschreibung der Arbeitsanweisungen, der sogenannten „Wie-Ebene” ein. Dabei sind auch sämtliche Compliance-Vorgaben zur lückenlosen Dokumentation integriert.

Was ist S-BPM?

Einzigartig, einfach, flexibel und schnell: S-BPM, eine subjektorientierte Prozessbeschreibungsmethode, die heute neue Maßstäbe im Bereich BPM setzt. Ziel der Vorgehensweise ist es, schnell und einfach dynamische Prozess-Applikationen zu erstellen, sowie zügig und nahtlos in die bestehende IT zu integrieren. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Verhaltensweisen der Prozessbeteiligten (Mensch oder Computer), die Metasonic als Subjekte bezeichnet. Ihre Zusammenarbeit koordinieren sie, indem sie miteinander kommunizieren. Ein Kontrollfluss, ein Bestandteil vieler anderer BPM-Werkzeuge, ist nicht mehr erforderlich.

Ausgangssituation & Probleme

Zur untersten Prozessebene bei FIDUCIA, der „Wie-Ebene“, zählen alle internen Bedürfnisse der FIDUCIA wie Bestellprozesse, Reklamationsmanagement, Auftragsvergabe, Genehmigungsverfahren, Wartungsprozesse, usw. Diese dazugehörigen Prozesse wurden jedoch in den Bereichen sehr unterschiedlich beschrieben. Dazu kam es zu folgenden Problemen:

  1. Der Aufwand und die Notwendigkeit wurden sehr unterschiedlich eingeschätzt.
  2. Die direkte Verbindung zwischen einer Prozessbeschreibung und dem Workflow des Arbeitsablaufes fehlte.
  3. Die Transparenz über den Workflow und die Möglichkeit einer Prozessverfolgung waren nur sehr gering vorhanden und mussten aufwendig in unterschiedlichen Tools gepflegt werden.
  4. Prozesskosten konnten nicht so einfach ausgewertet werden.
  5. Die internen Bedürfnisse wurden individuell abgewickelt und durch über 100 Postfächer unterstützt:
    • keine integrierte Oberfläche zur Ansteuerung der Bedarfsabwickler
    • keine Optimierung durch Erkennen, welche Bedarfsanfragen wie häufig wo entstehen
    • kein verbindlicher, einheitlicher Workflow für den Freigabeprozess von Bedürfnissen

Vorgehensweise & Ergebnis

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den beteiligten Mitarbeitern bei FIDUCIA wurden schrittweise die Postfächer für die Bedarfsanforderung abgelöst und die dort vorhandenen Abläufe (inkl. klarer Berechtigungsstrukturen) in Metasonic® Build, der Modellierungs-Komponente der Metasonic® Suite, abgebildet. Vor dem „Go Live“ konnten die Mitarbeiter die Prozesse mit Metasonic® Proof, der Validierungs-Komponente, interaktiv testen und verbessern. Anschließend wurde das Intranet von FIDUCIA mit Hilfe des Ausführungstools, Metasonic® Flow, zu einem Prozessportal ausgebaut. Alle internen Bedürfnisse werden zukünftig darüber abgewickelt.

Das revolutionäre an dem Ansatz ist, dass mit dem Portal eine optimale Verbindung von Mitarbeiter, Prozess und IT geschaffen wird. Es beinhaltet bereits alle Grundinformationen des Bedarfssenders und unterstützt mit Bedarfsformularen optimal den Kommunikationsworkflow. Dies sichert eine möglichst vollständige Information für den Bedarfsempfänger und reduziert Rückfragen. Die Freigaben im Genehmigungsprozess werden aktiv auf ihre Aufgaben hingewiesen. Jeder am Prozess Beteiligte erhält zu jederzeit einen aktuellen und transparenten Überblick über den Freigabe- bzw. Verarbeitungsprozess. Zentral kann jetzt das Volumen von Bedürfnissen analysiert und so Optimierungsmaßnahmen erarbeitet werden.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Punkt ist, dass sich Compliance-Vorgaben von Anfang an in den Prozess integrieren lassen, so dass jeder Mitarbeiter weiß, wie er regelkonform handeln muss. Jeder Schritt ist nachvollziehbar und dokumentiert.