Tesat-Spacecom GmbH & Co.KG An Efficiency Bridge to Outer Space with S-BPM

Tesat-Spacecom GmbH & Co. KG in Backnang, Germany, manufactures equipment for the satellite communications industry worldwide. To guarantee a high level of schedule compliance, they needed to introduce an efficient, customized business process management system that would bring transparency and flexibility to their management and order fulfillment processes.

STARTING BASIS

Efficient process management is extremely important for a business like Tesat-Spacecom. As an internationally renowned manufacturer in the satellite communications field, it needs to know where all production-relevant parts are located at all times. It‘s too late to perform an acid test once the satellite has gone into space. Better that the components be tested during the production process – the way they do it at Tesat in Backnang. Due to the expansion of the satellite communications market, the company has experienced considerable growth and now must produce parts in greater numbers and in less time. Meanwhile, in the "Active Devices" product area, there are four testing departments that deal with satellite communications projects. At any given time, about 700 partial systems are undergoing a test run somewhere. The high cost of coordinating these projects created a need for an integrated and comprehensive solution. For example, until now whenever unscheduled delays occurred in the project flow, all the schedules had to be revised. Delays in parts deliveries or shipments would bring projects to a standstill.

The new solution was not to be limited to the testing departments, but also made available to the project managers of other business units and to the production department.

A CLEAR GOAL: FAST PROCESS EFFICIENCY

With the overriding goal of identifying media and communications breakdowns in the testing departments across departmental boundaries and achieving a high level of transparency and flexibility in order management and fulfillment, Tesat together with in-integrierte informationssysteme GmbH (IN-GmbH) introduced a business process management system (BPM system) based on Metasonic® Suite in less than a year.

PROCEDURE

The bridge analysis developed by IN-GmbH was intended to provide clarity about the existing potential for optimization. To achieve this, a prototype was presented within a few months using the subject-oriented method on which Metasonic® Suite is based. Meanwhile, communication among employees was a central focus. Thus the users were immediately involved in the further enhancement of the solution. "Given the easy-to-operate user interface, Tesat employees were able to contribute their ideas continuously and validate them in interactive tests", says the IN-GmbH project manager. "We were even able to implement subsequent requirements with no problem." New functions were defined and organized on a continual basis through in-depth joint discussions. The efficient procedure made it possible to adhere scrupulously to the timetable throughout the project.

OUTCOME

Employees and customers alike now benefit from simpler, faster and seamlessly documented project processing. The new Tesat S-BPM system is based on the globally unique method of subject-oriented business process management. All workflows are precisely defined and, above all, documented. At the push of a button, it can now be determined with certainty where production-relevant devices are located, what stage the individual test runs have reached, and how the schedule compliance situation is looking. Another plus is the new solution‘s high level of acceptance among Tesat employees. They now see communications-oriented process management as an aid in their everyday work, by which they can create their own business applications, implement them directly and modify them on the fly. Pending decisions can now be made a whole lot faster. That means the final outcome of a project is reached more quickly.

ABOUT TESAT

Tesat-Spacecom GmbH & Co. KG
Tesat-Spacecom is closely tied to the 100-year industrial history of Telefunken. Today, Tesat-Spacecom is a wholly-owned, independently-operated company of EADS Astrium GmbH. The company, based in Backnang, Germany, has manufactured equipment for the satellite communications industry for over four decades. As a global market leader, Tesat-Spacecom was the first to establish a high bit rate laser connection between two LEO satellites (EU-US) and between an earth station in Hawaii and a satellite in space. Tesat-Spacecom in Backnang earned €200 million in revenue in 2010 and has 1100 employees.

Tesat-Spacecom GmbH & Co.KG Effizienzbrücke ins All mit S-BPM

Die Tesat-Spacecom GmbH & Co. KG in Backnang produziert Ausrüstungen für die Satellitenkommunikationsindustrie weltweit. Um dabei eine hohe Termintreue sicherstellen zu können, war die Einführung eines effizienten, individuell angepassten Geschäftsprozessmanagementsystems erforderlich. Dies sollte Transparenz und Flexibilität sowohl in der Auftragssteuerung als auch in der Auftragsdurchführung bringen.

DIE AUSGANGSSITUATION

Ein effizientes Prozessmanagement ist für Unternehmen wie die Tesat-Spacecom extrem wichtig. Denn der international renommierte Hersteller im Bereich Satellitenkommunikation muss zu jedem Zeitpunkt wissen, wo sich alle produktionsrelevanten Teile befinden. Ist der Satellit erst einmal im Weltraum, ist es zu spät für einen Härtetest. Besser, die Komponenten werden noch in der Herstellung getestet. Wie bei Tesat in Backnang. Das Unternehmen hat dank des steigenden Satellitenkommunikationsmarktes ein beachtliches Wachstum hinter sich und muss größere Stückzahlen in kürzerer Zeit fertigen. Dabei befassen sich heute im Produktbereich „Aktive Geräte“ vier Testabteilungen mit Satellitenkommunikationsprojekten. Ständig sind rund 700 Teilsysteme irgendwo in einem Testlauf unterwegs. Der hohe Aufwand, um diese Projekte zu koordinieren, weckte den Bedarf nach einer integrierten und ganzheitlichen Problemlösung. Beispielsweise mussten bislang bei außerplanmäßigen Verschiebungen im Projektablauf die gesamten Planungen neu aufgelistet werden. Nicht termingerecht gelieferte oder weitergeleitete Teile brachten Projekte schnell ins Stocken.

Die neue Lösung sollte nicht auf die Testabteilungen beschränkt bleiben, sondern auch den jeweiligen Projektleitern aus anderen Bereichen und der Fertigung zur Verfügung stehen.

KLARES ZIEL: SCHNELLE PROZESSEFFIZIENZ

Mit dem obersten Ziel, Medien- und Kommunikationsbrüche über die Bereichsgrenzen der Tesatabteilungen hinweg aufzuzeigen sowie eine hohe Transparenz und Flexibilität in Auftragssteuerung und -durchführung zu erreichen, führte die Tesat gemeinsam mit der in-integrierte informationssysteme GmbH (IN-GmbH) in weniger als einem Jahr ein Geschäftsprozessmanagementsystem (BPM-System) ein, das auf der Metasonic® Suite basiert.

VORGEHENSWEISE

Die von IN-GmbH entwickelte Bridge-Analyse sollte Klarheit über das bestehende Optimierungspotenzial bringen. Um dies zu erreichen, wurde mithilfe der subjektorientierten Methode, die der Metasonic® Suite zugrunde liegt, innerhalb weniger Monate ein Prototyp präsentiert. Dabei stand die Kommunikation mit den Mitarbeitern im Mittelpunkt. Somit waren die Anwender sofort in die weitere Lösungsverbesserung eingebunden. „Anhand der einfach bedienbaren Benutzeroberfläche konnten die Mitarbeiter von Tesat ihre Vorstellungen ständig einbringen und in interaktiven Tests überprüfen. Auch nachträgliche Anforderungen konnten wir problemlos realisieren“, so die Projektleitung der IN-GmbH. In intensiven gemeinsamen Gesprächen wurden kontinuierlich neue Funktionen und deren Ausgestaltung festgelegt. Während des gesamten Projekts konnte durch die effiziente Vorgehensweise der Zeitplan penibel eingehalten werden.

DAS ERGEBNIS

Mitarbeiter und Kunden profitieren heute gleichermaßen von der einfacheren, beschleunigten und lückenlos dokumentierten Projektabwicklung. Das neue Tesat-S-BPM-System basiert auf der weltweit einzigartigen Methode des subjektorientierten Geschäftsprozessmanagements. Alle Abläufe sind genau definiert und vor allem auch dokumentiert. Auf Knopfdruck lässt sich jetzt zuverlässig feststellen, wo die produktionsrelevanten Geräte sind, in welchem Status sich die einzelnen Testläufe befinden und wie die Terminsituation aussieht. Ein weiteres Plus ist die hohe Akzeptanz der neuen Lösung bei den Tesat-Mitarbeitern. Sie sehen das kommunikationsorientierte Prozessmanagement heute als Hilfe für ihre tägliche Arbeit, mit dem sie selbst ihre Business Applikationen erstellen, direkt ausführen und „On-the-Fly“ ändern können. Anstehende Entscheidungen können jetzt sehr viel schneller getroffen werden. Somit liegt auch das Gesamtergebnis eines Projektes zügiger vor.

ÜBER TESAT

Tesat-Spacecom GmbH & Co. KG
Tesat-Spacecom ist eng verbunden mit der 100-jährigen Industriegeschichte von Telefunken. Heute ist Tesat-Spacecom eine 100%-ige, selbstständig agierende Gesellschaft der EADS Astrium GmbH. Seit mehr als vier Jahrzehnten produziert die in Backnang ansässige Firma Ausrüstungen für die Satellitenkommunikationsindustrie weltweit. Als Weltmarktführer ist es Tesat-Spacecom als erster gelungen, eine hochbitratige Laserverbindung zwischen zwei LEO-Satelliten (EU-US) und zwischen einer Bodenstation in Hawaii und einem Satelliten im All zu schaffen. Bei Tesat-Spacecom in Backnang sind derzeit 1100 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt und im Jahre 2010 wurde ein Umsatzvolumen von 200 Mio. € erzielt.